Northern Lights

I’m feeling excited. I’ve just booked a trip to Iceland over New Year. I normally feel as though I can’t do much over Christmas as Christmas Day is usually in the middle of my time off school and I often have family staying with me. But this year I break up right before Christmas and so don’t have to be back at school until the 9th January. And I don’t have family staying. It’s far too good an opportunity to miss and the obvious thing to do with a holiday at this time of year is to try to see the Northern Lights. I’ve been to Iceland before and I love it there. I’ve only been in summer when the daylight seemed never ending, so it will be interesting to be there in the heart of winter when there’s very little daylight.

I’m staying in two different youth hostels in the city as I was only allowed to book a maximum of 7 nights at either one. I’ve found a tour company that does tours each evening hunting for the Northern Lights. They check the weather maps and go to where ever the best chance of seeing of the lights is. If the weather doesn’t look good they’ll cancel the tour and reschedule for the next night. If we do go out and don’t see the lights we can go on the tour the next night free of charge.

As I’ll have 11 nights there, surely I’ll get to see them??? I can’t have all those chances and still miss out. And if I’m really lucky maybe one of the volcanoes will erupt again and I’ll get to tick lava of my list as well. Oh to get one of those iconic photos of lava spewing in front of a background of aurora borealis …

This entry was posted in 60 Before 60 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

